Skip to main content

Prof. Jeffrey Andrews Receives IEEE Communication Society Wireless Communications Technical Committee Recognition Award

Prof. Jeffrey Andrews of Texas ECE has been named the recipient of the 2019 Wireless Communications Technical Committee Recognition Award from the IEEE Communication Society.

The award is given annually to a “person with a high degree of visibility and contribution in the field of “Wireless and Mobile Communications Theory, Systems, and Networks.” Prof. Andrews will receive the award next month at the upcoming IEEE Global Communications Conference in Hawaii.

This is the second year in a row the award has been given to a member of Texas ECE. Prof. Robert Heath received the award in 2018.

Dr. Andrews is an ISI Highly Cited Researcher, received the National Science Foundation CAREER award in 2007 and has been co-author of fourteen best paper award recipients including the 2016 IEEE Communications Society & Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award, the 2011 and 2016 IEEE Heinrich Hertz Prize, the 2014 IEEE Stephen O. Rice Prize, and the 2014 IEEE Leonard G. Abraham Prize.  He received the 2015 Terman Award, is an IEEE Fellow, and is an elected member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Information Theory Society. In 2019 he was a co-recipient of the IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award with Prof. Robert Heath for their contributions to wireless communication systems. 

Prof. Andrews is a member of the Wireless Networking and Communications Group (WNCG).