Skip to main content

Prof. Mattan Erez to Receive Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

Mattan Erez, an associate professor in the Cockrell School's Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, is one of three faculty members from The University of Texas at Austin to be selected to receive Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers. This is the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their research careers.

They are among 102 recipients who will receive their awards at a Washington, D.C., ceremony later this year. These recognition awards pay tribute to the honorees’ past and ongoing accomplishments.

Prof. Erez will receive his award for research on the challenge of providing efficient resilience against system errors and failures at large scale by elevating resilience to first-class programming abstraction.

“The impressive achievements of these early-stage scientists and engineers are promising indicators of even greater successes ahead,” President Barack Obama said about the 102 recipients. “We are grateful for their commitment to generating the scientific and technical advancements that will ensure America’s global leadership for many years to come.”

The recipients are employed or funded by various federal departments and agencies that join together annually to nominate those whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for ensuring America’s pre-eminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies' missions.


Erez is the second electrical and computer engineering faculty member in five years to receive the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers. He joins associate professor Seth Bank who won the award in 2009.