Skip to main content

Texas ECE Students Win Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship Competition 2021

Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship

A team of Texas ECE students has been named a winner of the Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship 2021 (North America) competition. The team of Akash Doshi and Manan Gupta won for their project "Federated Generative Learning for Channel Estimation in mmWave and THz." Doshi and Gupta were one of 16 winning teams selected from 43 finalists.

The Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship began in 2009, and "has continued to grow with the addition of more universities, more candidates, and expansion to our research centers internationally."

"The QIF program is focused on recognizing, rewarding, and mentoring innovative PhD students across a broad range of technical research areas, based on Qualcomm’s core values of innovation, execution and teamwork. QIF enables graduate students to be mentored by our engineers and supports them in their quest towards achieving their research goals."

Doshi and Gupta were supervised by Prof. Jeffrey Andrews of Texas ECE and the Wireless Networking and Communications Group (WNCG).