Skip to main content

UT ECE Graduate Students Jiwoo Pak, Ian Williamson, Michael Ramon, and Jiwon Chang Win SRC Techcon Best in Session Awards

Three UT ECE graduate students have won Best in Session Awards at the 2012 SRC TECHCON Conference held in Austin on Sept. 10 and 11. Jiwoo Pak, Ian Williamson, Michael Ramon, and Jiwon Chang all won Best in Session Awards for their submissions. TECHCON 2012 highlights the best of SRC-sponsored research, while showcasing the students performing the research. All SRC research programs are represented. TECHCON 2012 presents research from GRC, FCRP, NRI, and ERI in integrated sessions.

Here are the winners, their sessions, and the titles of their work:

Michael Ramon

Session 8: Emerging Materials and Devices
3GHz Graphene Frequency Doubler on Quartz Operating Beyond the Transit Frequency
Advisor: Dr. Sanjay Banerjee
Co-Advisor: Dr. Deji Akinwande

Jiwoo Pak

Session 10a: 3D Design and Test
Modeling and Prediction of Chip-level Electromigration for TSV-based 3D ICs
Advisor: Dr. David Pan

Ian Williamson

Session 12: Scaled and ALternative Interconnect Technology
Dielectric Interconnects for THz Chip-to-Chip Communications
Advisor: Dr. Deji Akinwande

Jiwon Chang

Session 16a: Tunnel FETs and Advanced Switching Materials
Computational Study of Tunnel FETs Based on Topological Insulator Bi(2)Se(3)
Advisor: Dr. Sanjay Banerjee

Celebrating 30 years of collaborative research for the semiconductor industry, SRC defines industry needs, invests in and manages the research that gives its members a competitive advantage in the dynamic global marketplace. Awarded the National Medal of Technology, America’s highest recognition for contributions to technology, SRC expands the industry knowledge base and attracts premier students to help innovate and transfer semiconductor technology to the commercial industry. For more information, visit