Skip to main content

Texas ECE partners with Samsung to design adaptive energy-efficient models for Smart Phone CPUs

Prof. Lizy Kurian John, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin’s Cockrell School of Engineering along with Prof. Andreas Gerstlauer, associate professor at Texas ECE have received a grant for their project titled, ‘Adaptive Energy-Efficient Designs for Next Generation Smart Phone CPUs’ from Samsung Electronics through its 2015 Global Research Outreach (GRO) Program.

The GRO Program is Samsung Electronics’ academic research collaboration platform. The company annually calls for innovative research proposals and collaborative research relationships with leading universities.

“We worked closely with the team at Samsung to put together a proposal for creating an energy-efficient system for next generation smart phone CPUs, which aligns with their interests too, said Dr. John.

Prof. John is the B.N Gafford Professor at Texas ECE. She joined The University of Texas at Austin in 1996 and received the NSF Career award the same year. Her research interests focus on microprocessor design, performance evaluation and benchmarking, workload characterization and reconfigurable computing. She holds nine U.S patents and has published over 16 book chapters over the last few years.

“The Cockrell School of Engineering encourages research collaborations with industry partners. I’ve worked with Prof. Gerstlauer on several projects before and this project brings out the synergy in our interests on performance and power modeling  ”, added Dr. John.

With the help of this financial support, the research project aims to be able to create energy-efficient techniques for multi-core smartphone CPUs. During the first year of the project, the team will delve into creating performance, power and energy models for guiding the energy-saving adaptive mechanisms. The project begins in August 2015 and it will initially have a one-year term after which it will be reviewed and renewed for a period of three years.