Skip to main content
Alan Bovik
Office: EER 7.862

Alan Bovik

Cockrell Family Regents Endowed Chair in Engineering #3
Cockrell Family Dean's Chair for in Engineering Excellence

Professor Al Bovik (HonFRPS) holds the Cockrell Family Endowed Regents Chair in Engineering in the Chandra Family Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, where he is Director of the Laboratory for Image and Video Engineering (LIVE). He is a faculty member in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, the Wireless Networking and Communication Group (WNCG), and the Institute for Neuroscience. His research interests include digital television, digital photography, visual perception, social media, and image and video processing.

His work broadly focuses on creating new theories and algorithms that allow for the perceptually optimized streaming and sharing of visual media. The outcomes of his work have the benefits of ensuring the visual satisfaction of billions of viewers worldwide, while substantially reducing global bandwidth consumption.

He has published over 1,000 technical articles in these areas and holds several U.S. patents. His publications have been cited more than 150,000 times in the literature, his H-index is above 130, and he is listed as a Highly-Cited Researcher by The Web of Science Group. His several books include the The Handbook of Image and Video Processing (Academic Press, 2000, 2005), Modern Image Quality Assessment (2006), and the companion volumes The Essential Guides to Image and Video Processing (Academic Press, 2009).

Dr. Bovik has received a number of major international awards. These include:

He has also received a number of other major awards from the IEEE Signal Processing Society, including the Norbert Wiener Society Award, ICIP Pioneer Award, the Sustained Impact Award, the Claude Shannon-Harry Nyquist Technical Achievement Award, the Carl Friedrich Gauss Education Award, and the Leo L. Beranek Meritorious Service Award. He has also received about 10 Best Journal Paper Awards from the IEEE and EURASIP.

He is an Honorary Member of the Society for Imaging Science and Technology, received the SPIE Technology Achievement Award, and was named an IS&T/SPIE Imaging Scientist of the Year. 

He is also a recipient of the Joe J. King Professional Engineering Achievement Award (2015) and the Hocott Award for Distinguished Engineering Research (2008), both from the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana (2008), and the IEEE Third Millennium Medal (2000). He also received The University of Texas at Austin Career Research Excellence Award in 2020.

He is a Life Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA) and the Society of Photo-Optical and Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE), and he is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Photographic Society (HonFRPS). He is a member of both the Television Academy (ATAS) and the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS). He co-founded and was the longest-serving Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Image Processing (1996-2002), and created and served as the first General Chair of the IEEE International Conference on Image Processing, held in Austin, Texas, in November, 1994. Dr. Bovik is a registered Professional Engineer in the State of Texas (License # 114706) and is a frequent consultant to legal, industrial and academic institutions